Do you work around children or own a daycare? Are you a nanny or do you babysit? Consider child care training from Safety Training Pros because we provide what the law requires, what you need to know, and what every parent wants in a safe and responsible caregiver!
For more information on getting you and your team the training you need, use the form below.
For schools and businesses with group training needs, our instructors will provide onsite training at your location. Request a quote for training here.
Red Cross Babysitters Training
To provide youth who are planning to babysit with the knowledge and skills necessary to safely and responsibly give care for children and infants. This training will help participants to develop leadership skills; learn how to develop a babysitting business, keep themselves and others safe and help children behave; and learn about basic child care and basic first aid. The recommended age for this course is 11-15 years old. Length is 6 hours, 30 minutes. Certification does not expire.
California Child Care Training
If you are in a licensed childcare setting, California state law requires you to take an EMSA-approved eight hour California Child Care: Pediatric First Aid and CPR class and a eight hour Preventative Health & Safety Practices for Child Care Providers.
Our California Child Care: Pediatric First Aid and CPR class is an 8 hour course and includes Adult, Child & Infant CPR with Pediatric First Aid training designed specifically for California State Licensed Child Care Providers and people seeking Child Care licensing in the State of California. This specialized training includes extra topics required by the State of California EMS Authority and satisfies Title 22 requirements. Additional topics covered in this course include: Required Consent and Information forms for Child Care settings, Emergency Follow-Up Steps, utilizing the Child Care First Aid Action Plans, and Dealing with Asthma and other Respiratory Emergencies.This class must be taken every 2 years.
Our Preventative Health & Safety Practices for Child Care Providers only needs to be taken one time.
Our classes that are specified with California Child Care (CCC), meet California EMSA requirements.
State law in California mandates that the Emergency Medical Services Authority (EMSA) approve and regulate first aid and CPR training for child care providers. Safety Training Pros programs are approved by EMSA for this purpose. The EMSA regulations are substantial and inflexible. They include:
1. Initial and retraining courses must be a minimum length of 4 hours of CPR and 4 hours of first aid.
2. Specific topics and skills must be presented, practiced, and evaluated.
3. Additional topics must be taught and a student handout regarding these practices must be used.
4. Teaching certain first aid practices to child care providers are forbidden.
5. The use of blended learning programs (a mix of face-to-face classroom instruction with online learning) is prohibited. Courses may not be shortened or challenged.
6. The American Red Cross program does not require an EMSA sticker, the Medic First Aid program does requires a “Course Completion Sticker” that our instructor will place directly on your certification card.
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
How long should my child care training be?
- 4 hours for child care First Aid
- 4 hours for CPR—adult, child, and infant, including all-age AED training
- 8 hours of Preventive Health and Safety Practices Training
May I take shortened classes in child care First Aid and CPR, since I am only renewing my training?
- No. The training for child care First Aid and CPR is required to be a total of 8 hours (4 hours for first aid, and four hours for CPR) EACH time a child care provider takes the course. The child care First Aid and CPR training must be repeated every two years, at the minimum.
- The Preventive Health and Safety Practices course is a one-time only requirement and must be at least 8 hours long.
May I take online courses for the child care provider training?
- No. On-line courses are not allowed for any of the child care training, per the statute that governs this particular training requirement.